AADR to Award the 2018 Distinguished Scientist Award to William Maixner

Posted on March 16, 2018

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) has announced William Maixner as the 2018 recipient of the AADR Distinguished Scientist Award. He was recognized at the Association’s 47th Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., USA, on March 21, 2018, at the Opening Ceremonies. The AADR/CADR Annual Meeting is in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., USA from March 21-24, 2018.

Maixner is the Co-director for the Center for Translational Pain Medicine, the Joannes H. Karis, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology and the Vice Chair, Research of the Duke University, Department of Anesthesiology Center for Translational Pain Medicine.

After completing his B.A., Ph.D. and D.D.S. at the University of Iowa, Maixner was a research fellow at the National Institute of Dental Research. From 1985-2015, he was faculty at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, rising from Assistant Professor in Prosthodontics to Professor in the Departments of Endodontics and Pharmacology. He also served as Co-director of the Oral and Maxillofacial Pain Program, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the School of Dentistry and Director of the Center for Pain Research and Innovation.

He has published more than 200 manuscripts and book chapters and has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) since 1986. Maixner considers chronic pain to be a “hidden epidemic” and has campaigned for more research support amongst colleagues, sponsors, health organizations and congressional committees.

“AADR is pleased to present Dr. Maixner with the 2018 AADR Distinguished Scientist Award,” said AADR President Raul I. Garcia. “He is being honored for his exceptional contributions to chronic pain research.”


Every two years, AADR recognizes a distinguished scientist who has contributed outstanding research of particular significance in any of the fields related to oral science. The award recipient receives a monetary award of $5,000, which is generously supported by GlaxoSmithKline.


© 2019 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy