Don't miss an issue! Renew/subscribe for FREE today.

New Officers Elected, New Trustees Installed at AAO 115th Annual Session

Posted on Friday, June 19, 2015

ST. LOUIS (June 17, 2015) — The American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) elected officers for 2015-16 and installed new members of the Board of Trustees at its 115th Annual Session, held recently in San Francisco.  The AAO is the world’s oldest and largest dental specialty organization with more than 17,000 members.

Morris N. Poole, DDS, an orthodontist with offices in Logan and Smithfield, Utah and Preston, Idaho, has been elected president of the AAO.  Dr. Poole has held leadership positions in organized orthodontics at local, state, regional and national levels throughout his career.  He was elected by the Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists (RMSO) in 2006 to be its representative on the AAO Board of Trustees.  Dr. Poole also serves on the Board of Directors of the American Association of Orthodontists Foundation, which supports orthodontic education and research.

“Orthodontics is constantly evolving, requiring research, continuous education and training, as well as public education,” said Dr. Poole. “Our work will focus on collaborating with all members of the dental profession for the collective good of all our patients, and leading the way for the next generation of orthodontists to provide exceptional oral health care that’s accessible and affordable to everyone.”

DeWayne B. McCamish, DDS, MS, an orthodontist with offices in Chattanooga, Signal Mountain and Ooltewah, Tennessee, has been elected the 2015-2016 president-elect.  

Nahid Maleki, DDS, MS, an orthodontist practicing in Washington, D.C., has been elected secretary-treasurer.  She is also the trustee representing the Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists on the AAO Board of Trustees.

John D. Callahan, DDS, MS, an orthodontist with offices in Fayetteville, Fulton and North Syracuse, New York, has been elected by the Northeastern Society of Orthodontists (NESO) as its trustee on the AAO Board of Trustees.  NESO serves orthodontists in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York and the Canadian provinces of Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.

Gary Inman, DMD, an orthodontist with offices in Elizabethtown, Campbellsville and Glasgow, Kentucky, has been elected by the Southern Association of Orthodontists (SAO) as its trustee on the AAO Board of Trustees. The SAO serves orthodontists practicing in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, the portion of Louisiana that lies east of the Mississippi River, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. 

In addition to Drs. Poole, McCamish, Maleki, Callahan and Inman, the 2015-16 AAO Board of Trustees includes:  Brent E. Larson, DDS, MS, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Midwestern Society of Orthodontists; Christopher A. Roberts, DDS, MS, Findlay, Ohio, Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists; J. Kendall Dillehay, DDS, MSD, Wichita, Kansas, Southwestern Society of Orthodontists; Norman J. Nagel, DDS, MS, Simi Valley, California, Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists; and Myron D. Guymon, DDS, MS, Logan, Utah, RMSO.  Rolf G. Behrents, DDS, MS, PhD, St. Louis, Missouri, is Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics and Michael J. Foy, DDS, MS of Colorado Springs, Colorado, RMSO, is Speaker of the AAO House of Delegates. Chris P. Vranas, CAE, St. Louis, Missouri, is the Executive Director of the AAO. 

Recent Headlines

© 2024 Conexiant | Privacy Policy