Don't miss an issue! Renew/subscribe for FREE today.

ITI President Daniel Buser Presented with 2013 Brånemark Osseointegration Award

Posted on Wednesday, October 9, 2013


The International Team for Implantology (ITI), a leading academic organization dedicated to the promotion of evidence-based education and research in the field of implant dentistry, congratulates ITI President Prof. Dr. Daniel Buser on being distinguished with the 2013 Brånemark Osseointegration Award.

Daniel Buser is the sixth recipient of this highly respected award, which is presented annually by the Osseointegration Foundation and honors an individual whose contribution to implant dentistry has had a significant impact on the field. The award recognizes his long-term achievements as a leader, teacher and researcher. It was presented at the Academy of Osseointegration’s annual business meeting in Tampa, Florida, USA on March 9, 2013.

“I am very honored to receive this prestigious award,” said Prof. Buser. “I see it as recognition of the achievements of my team at the University of Bern, School of Dental Medicine, and also, more broadly, of the treatment philosophy championed by the ITI since 1980 that has contributed to the standards and norms that guide the field today.”

Prof. Buser joins a distinguished group of award-holders, who number to date Prof. Per-Ingvar Brånemark, Dr. William R. Laney, Profs George A. Zarb, Daniel van Steenberghe and Ulf Lekholm.

Daniel Buser is an oral surgeon and currently Professor and Chairman of the Department of Oral Surgery and Stomatology at the University of Bern, School of Dental Medicine. He received his undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in dentistry from the University of Bern. He did research at the Harvard School of Dental Medicine in Boston, USA from 1989 to 1991 and spent educational sabbaticals at the Baylor Collage of Dentistry in Dallas, USA in 1995 as well as at the University of Melbourne, Australia from 2007 to 2008.

He has been ITI President since 2009. He also served as President of the European Association for Osseointegration (EAO) from 1996 to 1997, was President of the Swiss Society of Oral Implantology from 1999 to 2002 and President of the Swiss Society of Oral Surgery and Stomatology from 2002 to 2007. He is currently a Board member of the Swiss Implant Foundation and the Osteology Foundation.

Recent Headlines

© 2024 BroadcastMed LLC | Privacy Policy