Don't miss an issue! Renew/subscribe for FREE today.

AACD 2013 Drew More Than 2,000 to Seattle

Posted on Wednesday, October 9, 2013


MADISON, Wis. (5/2/13)—More than 2,000 dental professionals and the dental industry gathered in Seattle for AACD 2013, the annual scientific session of the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD).


The conference, April 24-27, offered attendees live learning through hands-on workshops and lectures. New dental products and services also debuted in this year’s exhibit hall affording attending a look at dentistry’s latest innovations.


“What sets AACD’s meetings apart from other dental meetings is the high level of learning,” said AACD President Jack Ringer. “Our members are among the most progressive and the most committed to esthetic excellence, so we offer them courses that challenge their thinking about dentistry, encouraging them to be even better at what they do.”


The AACD also showcased the achievements of its two newly Accredited Fellows, Drs. Joyce Bassett and Emil Hawary, along with the newly-Accredited Class of 2013:


·         Pinhas Adar, CDT, MDT

·         Rachelle M. Boudreau, DDS

·         Kevin M. Brown, DDS

·         William L. Brown, CDT

·         Jerome Y. Cha, DDS

·         Kristi A. Crispin, DMD

·         Brian K. Dennis, DDS

·         Pamela G. Doray, DMD

·         Patrick W. Gochar, DDS

·         Marshall W. Hanson, DDS

·         John D. Kling, II, DDS, MAGD

·         Rick Sonntag, RDT

·         Dory H. Stutman, DDS

·         Michael S. Szarek, DMD

·         Christine C. Theroux, DDS

·         Mark H. Whitefield, DDS

·         Amy N. Wilken-Heying, DDS


One unusual note about this year’s class, a father and son achieving their AACD Accreditation in the same year: Dr. Kevin Brown, DDS, is the son of William Brown, CDT. Dr. Brown says his interest in dentistry was rooted in his father’s dental laboratory.


Ringer, from Anaheim Hills, CA, officially took the helm as president of the AACD with Jim Hastings, DDS, serving as President-Elect and Joyce Bassett, DDS, as vice president. In addition, Barb Kachelski, CAE, the AACD’s new executive director, was recognized in Seattle.


Also during the session, several fundraisers for the AACD Charitable Foundation’s Give Back a Smile program, which helps survivors of domestic violence, generated an estimated $20,000. Attendees participated in the AACD Charitable Foundation’s Silent Auction and the Celebration of Smiles Fundraiser to support survivors.


Additionally, the Board of Directors honored Dr. Jeff Morley—an Academy founder—with the Hall of Fame Award presented to a member of the Academy who has demonstrated lifetime achievement in the form of service to the Academy. This award is given to exceptional candidates only when the BOD and Awards committee feels it is warranted. Dr. Morley is the fourth member of the AACD Hall of Fame. The support, inspiration and leadership he has provided in the last 25 years cannot be ignored or challenged. Serving in every facet of leadership and encouraging members to give back to the Academy by serving in leadership themselves, he has had a profound effect on every AACD member past and present.  Without his foresight and stamina, AACD would not be here today.


Special honors were also awarded during the event.


Industry-wide Awards:

• Excellence in Cosmetic Dentistry Education: Dr. Elizabeth Bakeman

• Outstanding Innovation in Cosmetic Dentistry: Ivoclar (for their work with e-Max)

• Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Gordon Christensen


Academy-wide Awards

• AACD Humanitarian Award:  Dr. Quincy Attipoe

• AACD Rising Star Award: Dr. John Rowe

• Outstanding Service to the Academy Award: Dr. Nils Olsen

• jCD Award: Dr. Dario Adolfi & Dr. Mauro Fradeani for “Myths vs. Realities:  Feldspathic Stacked Porcelain Veneers & Pressed Porcelain Veneers”


Give Back a Smile Volunteer Service Award Recipients:

•      Joyce L. Bassett, DDS in Collaboration with Central Arizona Shelter Services

•      Kevin M. Landers, DDD

•      Michael B. Hutcheson, DDS

•      Intelligent Touch Dental


Winners of the Give Back a Smile Whitening Challenge

1st Place: The office of Dr. Kenneth Banks-$7,015

2nd Place: The office of Dr. Rory Knapp- $6,500

3rd Place: The office of Dr. Kerri White- $5,798


Additionally, Dr. Ron Goodlin, AACD Immediate Past President presented President’s Awards to Drs. John Sullivan and Marty Zase, and plaques to Drs. Pam Doray and Kristi Crispin. Dr. Les Latner also received a plaque for a Presidential Meritorious Service Award. Dr. Jerry Bellen received an Honorary Fellowship from the AACD as well--the first time the Academy has had an honorary fellow.


The AACD is currently ramping up for its 30th Anniversary event, AACD 2014 in Orlando, April 30 to May 3. For more information about the Orlando meeting, visit

© 2024 Conexiant | Privacy Policy