Don't miss an issue! Renew/subscribe for FREE today.

NIH Announces Clinical and Translational Science Award Winners

Posted on Wednesday, October 23, 2013


Translating basic discoveries into new treatments that tangibly improve human health requires innovative collaborations and resources, as well as a diverse, highly trained workforce. To help meet these needs, the National Institutes of Health today announced more than $79 million in fiscal year 2013 funding to support 15 Institutional Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA).

Led by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), the CTSA program catalyzes improvements across the entire spectrum of translational research through efforts to broadly develop, demonstrate and disseminate health interventions. It serves as a connector to engage key partners including other NIH institutes and centers, patient groups, communities, health care providers, industry, and regulatory organizations.

“Science and technology are progressing at an unprecedented pace, and the CTSA program — which represents NIH’s largest single investment in clinical research — is helping researchers harness these innovations and deliver improved diagnostics, treatments and cures for disease,” said NIH Director Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD.

These latest awards represent NIH’s commitment to the CTSA program, which supports a consortium of more than 60 research institutions across the country that is focused on strengthening translational research. Under NCATS’ leadership, the program is focused on solving roadblocks common to clinical translational efforts for all diseases.

“The CTSA Consortium is leading national efforts to enhance the efficiency, quality, and safety of translational research, no matter the disease or condition,” said NCATS Director Christopher P. Austin, MD. “This aligns with the NCATS mission to create new technologies and methods that can be applied widely to streamline development and implementation of interventions that improve human health.”

The 2013 awards expand consortium representation to New Hampshire with an award to Dartmouth, extending the network to 31 states and the District of Columbia. The institutions receiving five-year awards are:

-- Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York City

-- Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.

-- Duke University, Durham, N.C.

-- Harvard Medical School, Boston

-- Indiana University, Indianapolis

-- Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore

-- Ohio State University, Columbus

-- Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, Calif.

-- Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

-- Tufts University, Boston

-- University of Colorado, Denver

-- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

-- University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio

-- University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas

-- University of Utah, Salt Lake City

View descriptions of these awardees and other CTSA institutions at

To learn more about how CTSA-supported investigators are translating basic discoveries into improved health, visit

Recent Headlines

© 2024 BroadcastMed LLC | Privacy Policy