Don't miss an issue! Renew/subscribe for FREE today.

AAP Honors Significant Achievements in Periodontics, Awards Compendium’s Dr. Louis Rose Gold Medal

Posted on Thursday, October 17, 2013

Chicago—(October 9, 2013) — The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) awarded excellence in the field of periodontology at its 99th Annual Meeting, held September 28 to October 1, 2013 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

“It is an honor to recognize the valuable achievements in periodontics accomplished by my colleagues,” said AAP President, Dr. Stuart Froum. “The advancements made by these talented individuals should inspire dental professionals around the world to treat periodontal disease more effectively and efficiently. Their work stands as a testament of their commitment to the field of periodontics.”

Gold Medal Award: The Gold Medal Award is the highest honor bestowed by the AAP and is sponsored by Sunstar Americas, Inc. This year, the American Academy of Periodontology presented the Gold Medal Award to Dr. Louis F. Rose. An active contributor to the field of periodontics and the AAP for many years, Dr. Rose became a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology (ABP) in 1980. He obtained his dental degree from Temple University, his certificate in periodontics from the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine, and his medical degree from the Medical College of Pennsylvania (Drexel University School of Medicine). Beyond his academic credentials, he maintains a successful practice in Philadelphia, specializing in periodontics and implant dentistry. He is also clinical professor of periodontics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine.

Dr. Rose has authored textbooks for dentists and physicians, and is a regular contributor to periodontal literature. He has served as Editor-in Chief of the Compendium of Continuing Education in Dentistry since 2008. Dr. Rose was director of the American Board of Periodontology from 2005 to 2011. Hailed by his peers as an excellent leader, he has served as an example to younger practitioners entering the field through his numerous contributions as an author and educator. Dr. Rose received an AAP Special Citation in 2000, and also numerous awards in the field of dentistry and medicine.

Other awards were:

Master Clinician Award: Dr. Stephen S. Wallace

Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Henry Greenwell

Distinguished Scientist Award: Dr. David L. Cochran

Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award: Dr. Terry D. Rees

Outstanding Periodontal Educator (posthumously): Dr. Robert S. Schoor

Honorary Membership: Dr. Isao Ishikawa

Special Citations: Special Citations are awarded to individuals who have contributed to the Academy in a noteworthy manner and are sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Health Care Products.

The Task Force on Peri-Implantitis is recognized for their efforts to develop a white paper evaluating implant health and diagnosis of implant conditions. This strategic initiative, commissioned by the Board of Trustees, is of critical importance to AAP members and the general dental community. The authors worked tirelessly under limited time constraints to produce this paper, which was published as an Academy Report in the Journal of Periodontology. Task Force members include Paul Rosen, Donald Clem, David Cochran, Stuart Froum and Bradley McAllister.

William J. Gies: The William J. Gies Award is sponsored by the American Dental Education Association and is presented to a nominee who has made significant contributions to the periodontal literature and the advancement of dental education. This year, the Academy recognizes Dr. Thomas W. Oates. A member of the AAP since 1989, Dr. Oates serves as a consultant for the Commission on Dental Accreditation and is a member of the American Dental Association National Boards Test Construction Committee. His research interests include cell biology, growth factors, regeneration, wound healing and implantology. His recent efforts have been directed toward interactions of oral and systemic health, specifically understanding the implications of diabetes mellitus on implant therapy, and have resulted in 27 publications over the past five years. In the course of his career, Dr. Oates has published several book chapters, numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals, and dozens of abstracts and editorials. He is also a peer reviewer for many scientific journals. Dr. Oates is currently a professor and vice chair in the Department of Periodontics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, where he is also an assistant dean for clinical research.

Clinical Research Award: This award is presented to a recent outstanding scientific published article with direct clinical relevance in periodontics and is sponsored by Quintessence Publishing. The AAP recognizes the authors Beck JD, Douglass GL, Dye BA, Eke P, Genco RJ, Page RC, Thornton-Evans G, and Wei L. for their paper titled “Prevalence of Periodontitis in Adults in the United States: 2009 and 2010” Published in the Journal of Dental Research.

R. Earl Robinson Regeneration Award: This award is presented to a recent outstanding scientific published article on periodontal regeneration in the basic or clinical sciences and is sponsored by the AAP Foundation. The AAP recognizes authorsGraziani F, Gennai S, Cei S, Cairo F, Baggiani A, Miccoli M, Gabriele M, and Tonetti M for their paper titled “Clinical Performance of Access Flap Surgery in the Treatment of the Intrabony Defect. A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Clinical Trials”published in the Journal of Clinical Research

Recent Headlines

© 2024 BroadcastMed LLC | Privacy Policy