AAE Recognizes Leaders in Dentistry at 2019 Annual Meeting

Posted on April 15, 2019

The American Association of Endodontists is formally presenting their 2019 recipients of their most prestigious awards at the Association’s annual, April meeting in Montréal.

The recipients, below, are being celebrated for their contributions to the fields of dentistry and their advancement of the specialty field.

Louis E. Rossman, D.M.D., is being presented with the AAE’s top honors, known as the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, for his extraordinary leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and endodontics. Dr. Rossman is a clinical professor of endodontics and overseer at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine.

Known to his friends as “Luigi,” Dr. Rossman is not one to run away from challenges whether they be complex root canal treatments or his pastime, mountain climbing. He is a past president of the AAE, the Foundation for Endodontics and the American Board of Endodontics, and a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine and the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine specialty program in Endodontics.

Markus Haapasalo, D.D.S., Ph.D., is receiving the Louis I. Grossman Award for his cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontology. Dr. Haapsalao is active in a variety of dental organizations and has authored or co-authored over 200 scientific articles in numerous, peer-reviewed renown journals. He served as head of the Department of Oral Biological Medical Science at the University of British Columbia. Dr. Haapasalo has served as an editor on several endodontic and dental journals, including the Journal of Endodontics.

Glenn R. Walters, D.D.S., B.D.S., is being bestowed with the Calvin D. Torneck Part-Time Educator Award, for his contributions to endodontics through his dedication as a part-time educator. He currently teaches at The University Texas Health and Science Center in San Antonio and he has held dozens of leadership positions on various boards and at a variety of academic institutions.

James D. Johnson, D.D.S, M.S., will be presented with the I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award. This award is presented to an individual whose contributions to endodontics in the field of education have demonstrated excellence through selfless commitment to full-time educational pursuits, and whose contributions have instilled in students the desire to pursue excellence in their careers. Dr. Johnson is professor and chair of University of Washington’s School of Dentistry and a past president of the American Board of Endodontics. He received his D.D.S. degree from Northwestern University and served in the U.S. Navy as a dental officer.

Avina K. Paranjpe, B.D.S, M.S., Ph.D., M.S.D., is being celebrated with the Edward M. Osetek Award. This award is given to a full-time educator with less than 10 years of teaching experience, who has earned the esteem and respect of students and faculty associates. She is an associate professor in the Department of Endodontics at the University of Washington and a part of the 2018-19 American Dental Education Association Leadership Institute.

To learn more about the AAE or for a complete biography of any of the award winners, please contact the AAE by phone at 800-872-3636, by email at info@aae.org or visit aae.org. The AAE also maintains social media pages on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and LinkedIn.

About the American Association of Endodontists

The American Association of Endodontists, headquartered in Chicago, represents more than 8,00 members worldwide. Endodontics is one of nine dental specialties formally recognized by the American Dental Association. The AAE, founded in 1943, is dedicated to excellence in the art and science of endodontics and to the highest standard of patient care. The Association inspires its members to pursue professional advancement and personal fulfillment through education, research, advocacy, leadership, communication and service.                                                        

© 2020 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy