Dr. Steven Eckert Chosen as 10th Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award Winner

Posted on March 17, 2017

Arlington Heights, Ill., March 16, 2017 -- Dr. Steven E. Eckert was honored today the prestigious Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award during the Opening Symposium of Academy of Osseointegration’s (AO) 2017 Annual Meeting. The award was presented by the Osseointegration Foundation’s (OF) president Dr. Myron Nevins.

The award is given annually by OF, AO’s philanthropic arm. It honors individuals whose impact on, and leadership in, implant dentistry is exemplary in any or all of the Foundation’s mission categories: research, education, and charitable causes.

A former AO president, Dr. Eckert in 2006 became the second editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Implants (IJOMI), a position he still holds.

“Dr. Steven Eckert has a distinguished record of leadership in the Academy, rising to president in 2007,” said Dr. Myron Nevins, president of AO.  “He has done a remarkable job as editor-in-chief of IJOMI, extending the horizons of our journal, especially with expansion of the electronic edition.  He has inspired professionals in our field to author papers, and we are all grateful for the information IJOMI provides.  It all translates into significant improvement in clinical practice and improved patient results.”

In 1991, Dr. Eckert joined AO and remembers concentrating on broadening the international reach of the Academy.  He is currently Professor Emeritus at the Mayo Clinic and Adjunct Professor at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry.  Dr. Eckert practices at ClearChoice Dental Implant Center in Minneapolis and is Director of Research for ClearChoice.

Previous Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award honorees are (in chronological order) Per-Ingvar Brånemark, MD, PhD, William R. Laney, DMD, MS, George A. Zarb, BChD, DDS, MS, Daniel VanSteenberge, MD, PhD, Ulf Lekholm, DDS, Daniel Buser, DDS, DMD, Professor Tomas Albrektsson, Stephen M. Parel, DDS, and Ole Jensen, DMD.  The award is made possible by a grant from Nobel Biocare.  The selection process involves members of the OF’s Titanium Society to propose distinguished candidates.

© 2019 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy