ADEAGies Foundation Announces Recipients of the William J. Gies Awards for Vision, Innovation and Achievement in Academic Dentistry and Oral Health

Posted on October 25, 2016

The ADEAGies Foundation announced today the winners of the 2017 William J. Gies Awards for Vision, Innovation and Achievement (The Gies Awards). The Gies Awards, named after dental education pioneer William J. Gies, Ph.D., debuted in 2008 and are the profession’s preeminent recognition for individuals and organizations that exemplify the highest standards in oral health and dental education, research and leadership. The 2017 Gies Awards will be presented on March 20 at a highly anticipated ceremony to be held in conjunction with the 2017 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in Long Beach, CA. Dentsply Sirona is the premier sponsor of the awards.

“Dentsply Sirona deeply values its partnership with the ADEAGies Foundation and is pleased to support the foundation as the Premier Sponsor of the 2017 Gies Gala,” says Terri Dolan, D.D.S., M.P.H., Vice President and Chief Clinical Officer at Dentsply Sirona, Inc.

The honorees were selected by a distinguished panel of judges consisting of the ADEAGies Foundation Board of Trustees. The 2017 Gies Award recipients are (in alphabetical order):

Colorado Dental Association

Gies Award for Vision – Public or Private Partner

Eastman Institute for Oral Health

Gies Award for Achievement – Academic Dental Institution

Allan J. Formicola, DDS, MS

Gies Award for Vision – Dental Educator

N. Karl Haden, PhD

Gies Award for Achievement – Public or Private Partner

Jordan Valley Community Health Center

Gies Award for Innovation – Public or Private Partner

Pacific Center for Special Care at University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

Gies Award for Innovation – Academic Dental Institution

George K. Stookey, PhD, MS

Gies Award for Innovation – Dental Educator

University of Washington School of Dentistry – RIDE Program

Gies Award for Vision – Academic Dental Institution

Pamela Zarkowski, JD, MPH

Gies Award for Achievement – Dental Educator

“The outstanding winners of the 2017 Gies Awards were selected from a record number of nominations this year,” says Leo E. Rouse, D.D.S., FACD, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the ADEAGies Foundation. “The ADEAGies Foundation Board of Trustees congratulates the winners and thanks all of the nominators for the excellent submissions.”

Tickets for the celebration may be purchased starting in early December online at adea.org/2017 when registering for the 2017 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition. For information on table sponsorship, contact Trish Smith at tsmith@wearecoulter.com or 703-506-3272.

© 2021 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy