Don't miss an issue! Renew/subscribe for FREE today.
 Advertisement ×

Academy of Osseointegration Announces 2016 Research Award Winners

Posted on February 29, 2016

CHICAGO, February 29, 2016 – Hundreds of clinicians, researchers, residents and their faculty presented original research at the Academy of Osseointegration (AO) Annual Meeting. Six researchers were recognized by a committee of their peers to receive top honors for their outstanding contributions to the field of implant dentistry.  

“I am extremely impressed by the thought-provoking research and advanced clinical procedures presented at this year’s meeting,” said Dr. Andrew Halbert, Chair of AO’s E-Poster Committee. “The E-Posters and presentations were clinically relevant and presented inspiring ideas for dentists to consider for immediate use. I am quite proud of those from around the world who work so diligently to continue to advance the science of implant dentistry.” 

Pictured (from left to right): Hiroyuki Matsuda, Nicholas Montanaro, Junro Yamashita, Amirali Zandinejad, Christian Mertens


Below is a complete list of awards and honorees.

·      Best Oral Clinical Presentation: Efficacy of Socket Grafting for Alveolar Ridge Preservation: A Randomized Clinical Trial, Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, DDS, MS, PhD

“I am still in a cloud since I found out about the award for the Best Oral Clinical Presentation. This is such a great honor for me,” said Dr. Avila-Ortiz, an Associate Professor in the Department of Periodontics at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. “This recognition is the culmination of a very intense team effort conducted at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. Our findings are very relevant for the understanding of the fate of the alveolar ridge following tooth loss or extraction. Our investigative team hopes that this core knowledge contributes to refine existing clinical protocols for the management of the extraction site, including alveolar ridge preservation via socket grafting, as well as immediate implant placement.”

·      Best Oral Scientific Presentation: Dramatic Improvement in Bone Quality at Osteotomy Sites by Short-Term Administration of Osteoporosis Medication, Junro Yamashita, DDS, PhD

"I am very glad to receive this prestigious award,” said Dr. Yamashita, a Professor at Fukuoka Dental College, Japan. “I believe our finding brings us one step closer to developing a predictable treatment method to grow bone."

·      1st Place E-Poster: Three-dimensional Alveolar Anatomy of the Maxillary First Molar and Proposed Classification for Implant Placement: A Cone Beam Computed Tomography Study, Hiroyuki Matsuda, DDS

“Winning first-place for my E-Poster at AO’s Annual Meeting, one of the most prestigious implant meetings, definitely means a lot to me and gives me great confidence and motivation to pursue my career goals,” said Dr. Matsuda, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Kameda Medical Center, Japan. “AO always gives me great inspiration and opportunities. The valuable time spent in the meeting brings me to the next level.”

·      2nd Place E-Poster: Various Tip Applications and Temperature Changes of Er, Cr: YSGG-Laser Irradiated Implants, Nicholas Montanaro, BS

"The AO Meeting not only allowed us to present our innovative and original research among distinguished peers, but also gave us the ability to express our trust and faith in Er,Cr:YSGG-laser systems across a wide range of dental applications,” said Montanaro, a student at Stony Brook University, School of Dental Medicine. “We cannot express enough how fortunate we feel for being recognized by the Academy, and this honor has given us tremendous confidence in our work as we look to expand the horizons of dental research in laser technology.”

·      Best E-Poster Case Presentation: Treatment of the Edentulous Maxilla with Fixed Implant-retained Prosthesis: 15-year Prospective Results, Christian Mertens, DDS, PhD

“Receiving this important AO Award is a real pleasure and great honor for me,” said Dr. Mertens, Department of Oral and Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery
of the University of Heidelberg. “This recognition definitely gives me, as a proud member, confidence and motivation for future contributions to the efforts of the Academy of Osseointegration. I am thoroughly convinced that our work on long-term implant data is an important basis for future treatment decisions.”

·      Best Clinical Innovations: Reducing Biomechanical Failures in Implant Dentistry with Innovative Design and Fabrication Technique, Amirali Zandinejad, DDS

“As a member of AO, I believe the Academy is dedicated to the highest standards in patient care, research and education,” said Dr. Zandinejad, Director of the Advanced Education in General Dentistry residency program, Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry. “Having the opportunity to present to this prestigious organization and then having my presentation selected as the best is delightful. I think this is a great reward for my hard work and I am very grateful for that.”

Awards and plaques were presented to the winners during the Academy’s Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, February 20. Stay tuned for the Call for Abstracts for AO’s 2017 Annual Meeting, scheduled for March 16-18 in Orlando, Fla.

To digitally view more than 200 studies presented in E-Poster format, visit Search for each poster by its number, title, author or keyword.  

© 2021 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy