60 Years of Engaging Next Generation Dental Leaders: The AADR and Dentsply Sirona Present the 2019 SCADA Awards

Posted on July 9, 2019

The 2019 winners of the SCADA program were recognized for their research achievements during the IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition in Vancouver, Canada, on June 19th, 2019. This time, 69 student clinicians representing 28 countries participated in the SCADA program. In 1959, Dentsply Sirona and the American Dental Association initiated the competition for dental students in the United States. Since 2017, AADR has co-sponsored the research competition with Dentsply Sirona. The SCADA program has two main goals: Firstly, to support the next generation dental professionals in discovering the importance of dental research, and secondly to offer expanded networking opportunities with clinicians and scientists from all over the world to advance their skills and careers. The overall goal is to advance science and improve global oral health. Moreover, SCADA Alumni and the participants of national and global competitions become part of a global community of dental professionals. 

60 years SCADA awards – looking back with pride 

During the last 60 years, SCADA has grown to become a globally recognized program with more than 8,400 participants from 28 countries. “Dentsply Sirona is proud to support the next generation of leaders in dentistry early in their careers. And we sincerely hope this is the beginning of a long and meaningful collaboration with these dental leaders throughout their professional lives. Personally, I am so impressed by the students’ professionalism, intellectual curiosity and high level of research. Congratulations to all of the participants in this year’s SCADA program! And many thanks to the university deans and faculty advisors for their support of the program,” points out Dr. Teresa A. Dolan, Vice President and Chief Clinical Officer with Dentsply Sirona. 

SCADA Competition – a win-win for participants and judges 

The ceremony in Vancouver recognized the six winners of the SCADA US competition. The 57 US students previously competed within their respective dental schools and were selected to participate in the SCADA competition. They presented their research to an international panel of experts in one of two categories: Clinical Research and Public Health or Basic and Translational Science Research.

Deepti Karhade, Harvard School of Dental Medicine and winner of the 2nd Prize the Category Clinical Research and Public Health, sums up her impressions: “Being part of SCADA is not only that you are a part of the competition but also that you collaborate with peers from all around the world. I think my favorite part while being here is that I am realizing that I am not the only one being passionate about the things I am working on.” Dr. Chuck Schuler, Professor and former Dean at the University of British Columbia and one of the judges, adds: “SCADA is really important to demonstrate why research is so important for dental education, because the students have to appreciate that things are changing. Thus, they have to keep looking for the newest advances and have to incorporate them in their practices for the most improved care for their patients.” 

Beyond the SCADA Competition – four additional awards 

In addition, the winners of 12 programs throughout the world had the opportunity to join the IADR/AADR/CADR General Session to present their research on June 20th, 2019. Moreover, SCADA provides fellowship funding to promote continued scholarship and help support graduate education. Two post-doctoral students were awarded Henry M. Thornton SCADA Fellowships; Dr. Adam Lietzan from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Dr. Nadeem Bjile from the University of Hong Kong. And the ADA Foundation/Dentsply Sirona Research Award for Dual Degree Candidates was awarded to Dr. Drake Williams in support of his doctoral research at the University of California, Los Angeles.

The SCADA Board of Directors also supports and acknowledges leaders for their commitment to the advancement of dentistry through two additional awards. Dr. Russell Giordano received the Burton C. Borgelt / SCADA Faculty Advisor Award for his commitment to mentoring students at the Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine. Dean Sharon Gordon from the University of Connecticut was honored with the Alan J. Davis / SCADA Achievement Award for outstanding service to SCADA and the dental profession.

More information about SCADA and other awards granted: http://www.scadaresearch.org

© 2019 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy