Two Technicians Earn AACD Accreditation

Posted on May 8, 2018

Ryan S. Lim, CDT, AAACD, and Carmen Nicholas, MDT, AAACD, were among the 18 dental professionals recently recognized and honored by the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD) for demonstrating their dedication to continuing education and responsible patient care by becoming credentialed by the AACD. This year, the AACD acknowledged 14 newly Accredited Members and four newly Accredited Fellows during the 34th Annual AACD Scientific Session in Chicago.

AACD Accreditation is an honor and can only be achieved by completing a rigorous credentialing process including a written examination, oral examination, and the submission of clinical cases for peer-reviewed evaluation. The Accreditation process, which was developed by the AACD and is the world's most recognized advanced credentialing program, encourages further education, interaction with like-minded colleagues, and the opportunity for professional growth. Accreditation requires dedication to continuing education and responsible patient care.

In addition to Lim and Nicholas, the newly Accredited Members include: Margarita Aleksanyan, DDS, AAACD; Anthony Michael Gadbois, DDS, AAACD; Carole E. Landman, DDS, AAACD; Marianella Marin Rivera, DDS, AAACD; Saiesha K. Mistry, BDS, MSc, AAACD; James R. Predmore, DDS, AAACD; Nick Seddon, DMD, AAACD; Robert L. Strain, DDS, AAACD; Allan S. Thomas, DMD, AAACD; Priya S. Tirumalasetty, DDS, AAACD; Matthew D. Webb, DDS, AAACD and Michael A. Weiss, DDS, AAACD.

"The time, commitment and dedication that's required to complete the Accreditation process is unrivaled. The sense of achievement that comes with it is indeed life changing. These newly Accredited members have completed this task and have so much to be proud of, as they have reached a level of dentistry that is desired by many and achieved by few," notes AACD Accreditation Chairman Adamo Notarantonio, DDS, AAACD.

The AACD also welcomed four new Accredited Fellows. The purpose of Fellowship is to provide the highest level of achievement for members in accordance with the AACD's mission of education and excellence.

The AACD's new Accredited Fellows include:

  • Marshall W. Hanson, DDS, FAACD has been a member of the AACD since 2004 and achieved Accredited Member status in 2013. He graduated with Honors from the University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry in 2007 and currently works at Villa Dental in Hamilton, New Zealand.

  • Ken Hovden, DDS, FAACD has been a member of the AACD since 1998 and achieved Accredited Member status in 2008. He graduated with honors from Stanford University with a BS in Biology and BA in Political Science.  He obtained his dental degree from the University of the Pacific School of Dentistry. Dr. Hovden has practiced comprehensive, esthetic, restorative dentistry in the San Francisco Bay area for 36 years.

  • Fred Peck, DDS, FAACD has been a member of the AACD since 1996 and achieved Accredited Member status in 2005. He is a graduate of The Ohio State University College of Dentistry and completed his residency at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. Dr. Peck teaches dental residents at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center, serves on the Board of Directors of Dental Care Plus, a Cincinnati based dental insurance company, and serves on the AACD Board of Directors.

  • Todd Snyder, DDS, FAACD has been a member of the AACD since 1996 and achieved Accredited Member status in 2012. He received his doctorate at the UCLA School of Dentistry, has trained at the F.A.C.E. institute and is a member of Catapult Education. Dr. Snyder was on the faculty at U.C.L.A. where he created and co-directed the first two-year graduate program in aesthetic and cosmetic restorative dentistry. He maintains a practice in Laguna Niguel, CA.

"These dental professionals' commitment to responsible esthetics and cosmetic dentistry is undeniable with their most recent achievement as AACD Accredited Fellows," said AACD Fellowship Chair Bradley J. Olson, DDS, FAACD. "Our Accredited Fellow members must complete one of the most rigorous, yet life-changing journeys of their career-and of their lives."

The newly credentialed dental professionals were recognized and received their awards during special ceremonies at the 34th Annual AACD Scientific Session held April 18 - 21, in Chicago.

For more information about AACD's credentialing programs, visit www.aacd.com/accreditationfellowship.

© 2019 AEGIS Communications | Privacy Policy